I define leadership as a persons ability to raise their expectation of themselves to such a high level of integrity and behaviour that they can accept responsibility for their followers actions and beliefs because their followers are being raised up into a new level of integrity.

The challenge of a leader is to continually raise the bar so as to continually draw their followers into higher realms of integrity and behaviour.

The best way to do this is to live by design and not by default. I choose to live by principles. Here is an example of a principle:

I elevate relationship above opinion. Even if you disagree with me I will continue my relationship with you unless it becomes unsafe for me or others. What you say and think and do will in no way discontinue our relationship unless it becomes unsafe for me or others. I will in no way allow a difference of opinion to separate relationship. I can sit and do business at a table with my enemies, I can collaborate with my competition and engage with my dissenters.

The brilliance of decisions that define us (or principles we choose to live by) is this:

  • They are not subject to our emotions
  • They are not subject to our environment
  • They are not subject to our circumstances
  • They are empowering and hold us accountable
  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    